Cyberpunk Animes

Comments

June 3, 2006

Net said:

Like your site, anime needs + GIS SAC 2nd gig.
thanks

SFAM said:

Hi Net, I agree. I haven’t gotten done reviewing all the movies or animes - the list above is just the ones I’ve gotten to so far. GITS SAC seasons one and two are DEFINITELY on the agenda.

June 4, 2006

Net said:

kool, yea it’s, (the best out of GITS-SAC series), a post-cypnk that address many, and not only, psychological, philosophical and political issues concerning driods society in such a manner you avg. anime, drama mech geek would be floored. It’s overflowing with historical written and real references the penetrate and cross refrence the very ideologies that a droid, society with humans and driods (hu-droid) mixed may stuggle with, almost the ego/id macro and micro levels, and it moves fast; moreover, it plays homage to many interesting movies, not all dystopic or mecchanoid, but certainly well done, and finally the quality of 3d/animation from I.G. is well worth the watch alone.
I am sure I did’t even give it enough clarity. heh
well, peace
n

Net said:

PS, the new Ergo Proxy is very hot. man, meebe i send you a list or the links to where i postsed allot of these swf/avi’s
out, peace

SFAM said:

Hi Net,

I have a listing in the meatspace of all the cyberpunk movies and animes I’ve encountered and seen (and reviewed so far). I’m up to episode 8 on Ergo Proxy so far and am keeping up in the second season of GITS SAC as well. If you know of others not on that list, PLEASE PLEASE post them.

The issue with posting GITS SAC (and many others) is that I didn’t want to put all the good ones up first, as this would leave me with nothing but lower quality movies to review. For instance, I just got around to doing Brazil recently. I’ll probably be doing Minority Report in a few days. Both of these are movies I’ve been VERY familiar with for a long time.

I will probably review GITS SAC season 1 different from season 2. BTW, so far, I like the second season better (although I still like the original GITS movie more).

Net said:

Juicy list. (meatspace)
re: P.D., eeew so jealous, can only get #3 ova.
Yea, I can scramble (uncramble) for list for ya.
yip yip 2nd gig best.
n
btw who are you? got a profile, send me a link to your droids profile.

June 5, 2006

Anonymous said:

ps, I do have Ergo 10 now, :) . Karas will be soo much fun.
I think the only thing I havn’t gotten into on your site I guess would be the games, I was a “Quake kid” fps stuff, not much else.
ever heard of the game KGB? (ok that’s a different fourm).
Brazil the classic prolly hard to review cause it’s out there already, that maovie change my life back in the day, like Heavy Metal, anime wasn’t avail to me that young. Yea, to bad Cruise was in Minority Report, however I stopped trying to be a cyber snob years back, you can learn of anything if it correalates, if it doesn’t move on, theories are all important to look at, some certainly more than others, but as with the advent of our future unfolds and the cyberpunk makes this second comeback, weee were alll in for a good one. I am glad I stopped by your site pretty fun stuff, and your intentions are pretty earnest. and you certainly have a fun hobby which I admire.
peace, N

Net said:

Anonymous said: “Anon”…was me, err, typical human error on 2 computers at once.

SFAM said:

Hi Net, thanks a bunch for stopping by. I hope to see you on here regularly. It’s good to find more cyberpunk anime fans. We do have some games reviewed here - there are four people who on and off have reviewed them. They games list on the right gives you access to these:
http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/cyberpunk-games/

But yeah, there are still lots left to do.

Net said:

Hey, you got a section on cybrpnk comics? point me 2 it, I see you have stuff on Enki Bilal, and you know about Transmetropolitain, (the Watchman yea that one is easy, and Geoff Darrow of course ect)… just wanting to read more. :)

Saw a link NYC2123 that one is new to me, looks tasty! Oh and I skimmed your article on the whole ‘post-cypunk” snippt, reading more after coffee. Tasty, tasty stuff.

You like Neon Genesis Evangelion, EVA? that’s just today’s anime add.
n

Net said:

yea and you link to
Moebius nice..

SFAM said:

Hi Net, I don’t know that I’d consider Neon Genesis Evangelion cyberpunk, would you? Regarding cyberpunk comics, so far, I’ve only gotten around to actually reviewing Transmetropolitan, but I’ve read many more. This is definitely on the agenda. There is sooo much to review, but I’ve decided to mostly concentrate on movies and animes till I get the bulk of them done.

June 6, 2006

Net said:

Hmmm, Well, now obviously exact definitions may be necessary in science, and critiques and learning ect, however a distinction is necessary of when an exact definition creates negativity, prejudices per say, which is where I try to refrain from, my definition of cpnk changes, actually is sometimes a feeling of what I like, and sometimes requires definition. That said, being fan of EVA and not a know-it-all on EVA, my instinct is to say it has flairs of cyberpunk influences however is over ridden with Religious intent of apoc-post-apoc senarios.

Let’s just use the definitions in which your reviewing your films:

Negative Impact of technology on humanity: Well the earth’s pretty much trashed, and there is the physical underground city that NERV is in, and they are attempting to manipulate and recreate a new human species, “artificial evolution” by use of technological tools as well as “spiritual”. ( I will address the whole post apoc-christian thing last.)

Fusion of man and machine: well the children’s souls certainly merge/ become one with with the machine to make it function. Rei “zero” although not said outright, is a suggested “breed” type of droid.
Thus it is not a direct physical bio-mechanoid type droid, in a sense it is where they are plugged in to a machine, virtually. Dunno, pluggin’ into machines not being limited to artificial devices that are the very components that machines are made from, like using drugs to “plug in”, or psyche ect (this reminds me of the book “RIM”), This I am sure raises questionability upon “cyberpunk” or not. no? Simply put some of the children have the natural ability to plug in and some have been breed to do so. hmmmm?

Corporate control over society: Well NERV is a corporation, (although secret, which also has gov. ties) and it is trying to manipulate the evolution of humans into a new species.

Story focuses on the underground: Well by your definition, ugh, no, my interpretation of the “underground” and oppressed I guess I clump these two for this for EVA would be that the children are all psychologically damaged, which is a form of oppression, and their is no “anti-hero” that saves the oppressed. However EVA via Rei doing the nasty, produces a type of miracle “re-birth” at the end, which is really fuzzy whether it is going to be “good” for humanity or not, or it may just be.

Ubiquitous Access to information: Well there again, no; however, the children do “hack” the machine in a few moments, if I am remembering this right.

Cyberpunk visuals and style: well it is anime, heh.

So once again, it has flairs of cyberpunk tendencies however is over ridden with Religious intent of apoc/ post-apoc scenarios. But the concept of connecting to a machine alone was enough to ask what you thought, and is a common theme in what may be called cyberpunk, movies ect.
hmm could be more thourough, but I am sure this enough to respond to.
N

SFAM said:

Hi Net, you make a compelling case. Perhaps its because I just don’t associate Mechas with cyberpunk. This may be my own bias though. I will go back and take a look at it. I do agree that it’s one of the most highly regarded animes. Does anyone else want to comment on this?

Net said:

Yea, mecha has it’s own genre allready.

Net said:

Koolio, just got your reccomended: “Wonderful Days”, “One Point 0″, and “IGPX” gonna be a fun night. Watched Ergo 10 last night, the mystery unfolds! Gonna spy and lurk at you guys in meatspace from now on, goodness which avatar?… mebbe an anti avatar.
peace
net

Net said:

IGPX was my silly idea :P

October 12, 2006

Zeonic Freak said:

I posted the same comment in the japanese films, i didnt see this here. But i have an anime im looking into that we should put up, Megazone 23 (or Two Three)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Megazone_23

and tell me this bike aint cool:http://www.betatoys.com/catalog/garland.jpg

Just something i wanted to share.

October 14, 2006

ETM said:

Hi, Zeonic Freak! You should post those in the forums, the comments are not really the best place for that kind of stuff. ;)

December 19, 2006

BadAsh said:

have you checked out dead leaves? i dont know if it would qualify, but being my favorite, it’s worth a shot.

January 16, 2007

SFAM said:

Hi BadAsh, Dead Leaves doesn’t really sound like cyberpunk to me, but it certainly sounds pretty wierd! Haven’t seen it yet though, but I’ve heard of it.

February 1, 2007

At The Forefront Of Excess said:

O.K. I don’t know if you havent heard of it yet… but Ergo Proxy is defonitly one worth looking at and defonitly listing… I know they are only to disk 2 in the US but it’s defonitly worth looking up. If I was rating It I would say…

Degree of Cyberpunk Visuals: High

Correlation to Cyberpunk Themes: High

But that’s just me personally…

SFAM said:

Hi Forefront, I’ve actually done a number of posts on Ergo Proxy. Yes, this is definitely in the queue for being reviewed. I will hopefully get to this in the next month. And yeah, its awesome!

July 1, 2007

PSY said:

Without spoiling anything, the Eva Units are not actually machines and therefore we eliminate the main argument for calling it cyberpunk.

July 4, 2007

project_2501 said:

Please review Ergo Proxy soon! It’s as good as GITS SAC in my opinion and more people need to hear about it. Oh yeah, Pino is the cutest anime character EVER

September 10, 2007

Marc McKenzie said:

I do like this list. There are some solid titles here, and I’ve seen pretty much most of them. However, I have a question: Would (or could) ROUJIN Z or MEGAZONE 23 be considered cyberpunk?

ROUJIN Z was an anime film from the early 90’s that told the story about an elderly man stuck in a prototype hospital bed. Sounds strange? Well, the “bed” is actually an automated mecha designed to aid the elderly…but as always, things don’t go well.

MEGAZONE 23 is from 1985, and it is one of the first OVA ever made. In what appears to be 1980s Tokyo, a young biker is given a mysterious superbike that transforms into a robotic battle suit…and there’s more. A lot more. He finds out that not only is the top idol singer actually an AI construct, but his whole world is a lie–it’s an artificial construct and it is 500 years in the future.

Both of these might have cyberpunk themes, but…maybe consider them. They’re both excellent.

(Then again…perhaps Satoshi Kon’s new film PAPRIKA as well? Maybe not…)

Keep up the great work!

[…] is even a “Cyberpunk” Anime Series. It is also worth mentioning, and this maybe obvious to any reader that the Matrix embodies the […]

August 5, 2008

Karla Marina said:

Hola muchas gracias no se komo agradecerte hee estado buscando una de estas chidisimas ovas o peliculas o lo ke sea muchas gracias enserio no sabes komo te lo voy a agradecer besos y hasta luego disculpa ke n tenga pagina web sale ps gracias y hasta luego….

October 3, 2008

Never Named said:

Nice list! never heard of Malice Dolls but it seems it right up my ally being a fan surreal stuff.

You might wanna check out Pale Cocoon and put it in the list.

its a short film that takes place somewhere in the future, where of course the earth is trashed and mankind has to live underground in a rather depressing society.
The story follows a man a that works for a department that digs up old records from when the earth was green and restores them. one day he finds a mysterious file…

I really like the athmosphere the anime breathes. lots of brown backdrops with a warm yet eary green/yellowish light.
dont expect action though, its all about 2 characters and the meaning/purpose of the archives.

if you have a spare 22 minutes. check it out!

November 27, 2008

Rez said:

Check out the anime Denno Coil, Myazaki meets SE Lain !

March 2, 2009

Nico said:

Hi, do someone knows other series or movies like STEAMBOY, MEMORIES (Otomo), I realy would like to know…

March 3, 2009

AArK said:

Ergo Proxy and Blame! too… They’re two cyberpunk animes…

April 26, 2009

ZAQ said:

How about Armitage III - PolyMatrix (1997)?, or short anime: CodeHunters (2006), or Pale Cacoon (2005)??

May 10, 2009

Absinthelord said:

What about Full Metal Yakuza by Takashi Miike, or New Rose Hotel?? Or Johnny Mnemonic???

June 18, 2009

empty said:

you should watch “Ergo Proxy”! It’s an awesome cyberpunk & philosophical anime by manglobe(samurai champloo)!

September 6, 2009

sleepy_head said:

I’ve gotta say I’m glad to see Serial Experiments Lain. It’s done in a way which seems more poignant than with many other cyberpunk animes.

Ergo Proxy is really good but for me there are too many religious connotations for it to be cyberpunk. In the end its really not about technology.

October 16, 2009

Germaholic said:

Depending on how far back you’re willing to go with anime, I’d recommend reviewing the 1979 movie Galaxy Express 999; I haven’t seen the TV show but the movie is pretty good; I have the region 3 release, which is much easier to find on Ebay. The animation is okay; I don’t find the artwork or character designs to be at all pleasing, but that might just be my personal tastes. The story is really good though.

On the surface it might not seem like it would fit into a site like this and it’s more of a fantastic adventure. It’s set in the distant future and they use trains to move from one planet to another. The visuals aren’t cyberpunk either, until you get to the very end. The main plot revolves around the idea of replacing your physical body with a mechanical body so you can live forever, which very much fits into the realm of cyberpunk. The young boy wishes to get a mechanical body so he doesn’t have to suffer from the cold and can live forever; however, during his journey he sees all of the negative effects such a process has on the people who have already had it done. The movie explores what having a mechanical body does to a person’s mind, and how their mechanical immortality comes at the cost of their very humanity.

Anyway, I won’t give anything else away, but it’s worth checking out unless you absolutely can’t stand 70s anime. :)

November 19, 2009

Yoshinatsu said:

You should add Ergo Proxy on the list.
It’s just the best cyberpunk anime ever created.

December 19, 2009

bg said:

Man u should do Blame! Manga review. I dare to say its one of the best from the whole CP.

bg said:

Just to add Blame! anime is not considered canon even, it was made as bonus to something.

March 26, 2010

From outer space said:

Magnetic Rose.. its part of katsuhiro otomos memories, consisting of three animes…. Magnetic rose is the first of them…

very cyberpunk…

one of the best animes i´ve ever seen….

you should check it and add it to the list!

April 13, 2010

Géneros de Anime y Manga « said (pingback):

[…] Cyberpunk: subgénero de ciencia ficción enfocado hacia la alta tecnología. Lista de animes. […]

May 7, 2010

grsshppr said:

thanks a lot for makin this site man really helped me get out

June 2, 2010

Alyson said:

Hi. I am kind of new to anime and I wan to continue watching more good ones and i was wondering if you guys could help me. My husband is into Ghost in the Shell type shows/movies and we have all of them, but i just recently just bought the complete series of Ergo Proxy, watched it all and LOVED it. I have been looking online to find similar titles and i keep getting Darker than Black(which im going to purchase), texhnolyze, speedgrapher, lain etc. Ive been looking at the plot summaries of these titles and they dont seem to be what im looking for. My question to you guys is should I give them a chance? are the plot summaries not doing them justice? I like the futuristic, diseased human/monster type deals with good graphics. If you guys could point me in the right direction I would be so grateful. Thank you for your time.

June 5, 2010

Stormtrooper of Death said:

Alyson, you might give Lain a try. But be warned, Lain can be a complete mindfuck. You might consider reading the synopsis on imdb or some other anime website.

Also you might like Akira (the original), or if you like 80s Anime, maybe Bubblegum Crisis, or Tank Police fits your needs.

Happy searching, Alyson.

June 6, 2010

Alyson said:

Thank you just bought Lain (you’re right i have no idea what the hell is going on)We have had Akira (that is a fav) i will check out the other two you mentioned. thank you for your support :)

June 9, 2010

ShadowGunner49 said:

Ghost in the Shell is definitely my favorite of all time. Both movies and series. Just doesn’t getting cyberpunk better then that.

June 17, 2010

geekgod420 said:

Alyson, I cant say that darker than black is cyberpunk but if you enjoyed ghost in the shell you should enjoy it and Witch Hunter Robin.

July 12, 2010

Guest Post: Cyborgs Exist and Humanity is Doomed said (pingback):

[…] Cyberpunk in anime […]

July 29, 2010

Edward said:

Ergo No Proxy. One of the best. Somehow like Matrix.

Second Darker than black.

September 1, 2010

From outer space said:

what about Lily C.a.t. ? take it into you list please. make a review.. its cyberpunk too.. like alien movie, it takes place in spaceship far away in space… also some heavy cyberpunk aspects in it… common….

February 17, 2011

shumbapumba said:

Would you consider Angel Cop and AD Police (OAV) cyberpunk?

SSJKamui said:


SSJKamui said:


SSJKamui said:

I wrote a review about the AD Police OAV and posted it in the reviewer forum this week: http://www.cyberpunkreview.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2610

SSJKamui said:

Like most of my other reviews, it’s waiting for an upload on the main page. (I hope Mr.Roboto will upload it, but I am extremely sceptical about that this may happen soon because Mr.Roboto currently focuses on writing reviews about Music CDs. You are also not the first who asked about the upload of a Review of this forum. Some months ago, another person asked about a Review of BSG, but Mr.Roboto either didn’t see this question or he simply ignored it. Sadly, I don’t know what he thought about this.)

I hope he would post more reviews, also because some very important media like the Max Headroom Series are still missing on the site.

(Sorry, for the frequent Doubleposting. Because of an Error, I couldn’t send the message)

February 25, 2011

Shodan Disciple said:

Real Drive qualifies as cyber punk if ghost in the shell does.

March 31, 2011

Colin said:

Hi,
Keep a eye on this director Jonkajtys,as he has three great cyberpunk movies, although only shorts they are - THE 3rd LETTER,MANTIS,and LEGACY they are fantastic and can be viewed at
http://www.openfilm.com/channels/jonkajtys

From
Colin

July 2, 2011

jone4s said:

Hello, maybe you can test Patlabor 1 ?(also from mamoru oshii, done in 1989)… its maybe 30- 40% cyberpunk.. i m not sure.. but its great.. the sequel Patlabor 2 is even more great…but lesse cp i think.. you can test it and then add to the list or not…

jone4s said:

additional (sorry for spamming): on the first view it seems to be about mecha’s… but give it a try…

July 3, 2011

SSJKamui said:

I have seen Patlabor, but it didn’t seem very Cyberpunk to me. To be honest, I think Jin Roh has got more Cyberpunk Themes than the Appleseed movies.

December 19, 2011

takaya said:

Cyber City Oedo: 808

Along with Akira, Appleseed, and Ghost in the Shell this is one of my favorites.

April 4, 2012

pow said:

How about Desert Punk? (Sunabouzu)
Definitely worth watching!!!

May 12, 2012

Doku said:

I am looking for an animation movie I saw a couple of years ago. It is more science fiction than cyberpunk. The plot is about a special police unit (similar to Ghost in the Shell idea) that investigate a series of strange human-turning-into-monster phenomena in the city. It is not a series, but a movie, at least what i saw. I remember the culprit was a woman, she had managed to create that virus and was using her sex appeal to spread it. I remember one of the police team members was kind of cyborg, similar to Batou from G.I.T.S.

If anyone could help!

May 17, 2012

Anan said:

Real Drive should be on this list.

July 20, 2012

Anonymous said:

Hmm, list hasn’t been updated in some time, may I suggest that you add Time of Eve (Eve no Jikan) to the list, deals with cyborgs living with humans, worth checking out IMO.

John Smith said:

Doku, perhaps you are looking for something like Paranoia Agent? If not well you can try looking into it some more.

September 1, 2012

Nasenoperation said:

I have read so many content regarding the blogger lovers however this article is genuinely a nice piece of writing,
keep it up.
Everywhere accross the planet, Internet surfers find approaches to keep on being private towards the Internet sites they will take a look at.

Those same end users have already been trying to get solutions to get at well-liked Internet websites
which are impeded coming from complete sets of users.
Individuals have trusted an anonymizer or even World wide web proxies services to disguised .
or perhaps get at on the net Television for computer, Xbox Reside, Hulu,
and other key subject material web-sites from around the world.

The widely accepted Russian anonymizer vendor HideME.
ru has ultimately intended a good Uk Website with regard to
their expert services named InCloak.net. “Our products and
services let end users to change their authentic Ip to a
provided unknown IP enabling those to browse the web securely with no departing
a brief history and also gain 100-percent having
access to earlier obstructed Internet websites,” claimed an InCloak.
org consultant.

The InCloak.org anonymizer allows anyone to put the particular hosting server region regarding source, select
virtually any accessible IP address, narrow detrimental programs, lower advertising banners along with
create popular and sometimes stopped at Web pages to your programÂ’s alexa tool.
As you move the anonymizer works for a distinct picked out method,
the actual company comes with a exclusive Confidential Circle (VPN) named OpenVPN.
A VPN customer services offers optimum privacy as well as to safeguard just about
all apps that will utilize Net in the subscriberÂ’s personal computer.

“The main VPN advantage on almost any proxy or anonymizer is definitely the way it gives you anonymity in addition to security for your entire personal computer at once,” mentioned
your practitioner.

InCloak.org provides Site equipment just like Web proxies, proxies checklist,
Checker and even more for as low as $0.The spring daily or maybe VPN access for as little as
$0.Eleven on a daily basis having one-year subscribers. More strategies consist of
each day, monthly in addition to two-year dues. A top quality access prepare supplies entire accessibility anonymizer (and VPN, should the value can be
ordered using this method) without having limits upon employ.

Many other features are also integrated.

September 16, 2012

gnzl94' said:

Evangelion is cyberpunk? … not the main genre of the series … but has several elements cyberpunk … can be included or at least
analyzed in this website?

SSJKamui said:

Well, for an analysis of Evangelion, you would need to have more than one article.

November 14, 2012

ka0s said:

HEy just thought I’d say you should review Ergo Proxy!

August 1, 2013

Count Zero said:

Found another pretty good cyberpunk anime series called Psycho-Pass. Definitly worth to check out.

August 28, 2013

Station said:

Cowboy Bebop.

Leave a comment

Made with WordPress and the Semiologic CMS | Design by Mesoconcepts